Rice University Logo
Rice University Logo
Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

Advisors and Advisory Committee

Faculty Content Advisors

John Sparagana, Professor of Art
Meredith Skura, Professor of English
Nick Iammarino, Professor of Kinesiology
Alexander Byrd, Professor of History
Debbie Nelson, Professor of French
Uwe Steiner, Professor of German
Scott McGill, Professor of Latin
Jose Aranda, Professor of Spanish
Evan Siemann, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Zhiyong Gao, Professor of Mathematics
Jimmy Disch, Professor of Sports Management
John Hutchinson, Professor of Chemistry
Stan Dodds, Professor of Physics
Jim Brown, Professor of Economics
Gilbert Cuthbertson, Professor of Political Science
Mikki Hebl, Professor of Psychology
Justin Denney, Professor of Sociology

Advisory Committee

Connie Berger is Principal at Reagan High School in Houston ISD.

Alex Byrd is an Associate Professor of History at Rice University. He holds a BA from Rice University and a PhD from Duke University.

Marianne Cribbin is the Executive Director of Human Resources for Spring Branch ISD. She holds a Bachelors and Masters degree from Texas Tech University.

Nella Garcia is the Managing Director - Talent Pipeline for YES Prep Public Schools. She holds a BA from Rice University.

John Hutchinson is the Dean of Undergraduates and Professor of Chemistry at Rice University. He holds a Bachelors and Doctorate from the University of Texas.

Mary Jackson is the Chief Academic Officer in Fort Bend Independent School District. Dr. Jackson holds a BA from Mercer University, an MEd from Georgia State University and an EdD from the University of Houston.

Eastman Landry teaches physics at the High School for the Performing and Visual Arts in Houston ISD. He received his BS in Mechanical Engineering and Secondary Education Certification from Rice University.

Mayra Martinez is a Spanish teacher at Pershing Middle School in the Houston Independent School District. She holds a BA from Rice University and is currently working on a Masters in Bilingual Counseling at the University of Houston Clear Lake.

Robby McGowen is the Director of Region IV's Educator Preparation and Leadership Solutions department. He holds a BS from Texas A&M University, an MS from the University of Houston Clear Lake and a PhD from Texas A&M University.

Miguel Ramos currently serves as Director of Institutional Effectiveness at the University of Houston, where his primary focus has been the practical application of assessment and evaluation strategies to enhance educational quality at the program and institutional level. He holds a BA from Rice University and PhD from Boston College.